VTV International Cycling Tour launched

by T.N03 September 2019 Last updated at 07:00 AM

Athletes competing in the first stage around Hoan Kiem Lake
Athletes competing in the first stage around Hoan Kiem Lake

VTV.vn - The fourth VTV International Cycling Tournament-Ton Hoa Sen Cup was kicked off on September 1 in Hanoi with the participation of 80 cyclists from 12 domestic and international teams.

Participating teams include Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Military Region 7, Bike Life Dong Nai, Loc Troi An Giang, Domesco Pharmacy Dong Thap, Japan’s Bonne Chance ACA, Thailand’s Roojai.com Cycling Team, Philippines’ Philippines Navy Standard, the Netherlands’ Global Cycling Team, Australia’s Velofit Australia and the Republic of Korea’s Koril Cycling Team.

During the nine-day tournament, participants will compete in eight stages with a total distance of 1,045km. They will go through many famous landscapes including Ha Long, Trang An Landscape Complex, the Ho Dynasty Citadel, Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, the Complex of Hue Monuments and Hoi An Ancient Town. Through the activities during the event, the organizers hope to popularize Vietnamese cultural and natural heritage sites and the beautiful characteristics of the Vietnamese people to international friends.

General Director of Vietnam Television Tran Binh Minh, Head of the organizers, said that the annual international event aims to encourage sporting activities across the country as well as seek the best athletes to compete in domestic and international tournaments, especially the SEA Games 30.

Cyclist IM Jaeyeon reached the finish line.

Cyclist IM Jaeyeon reached the finish line.

After the opening ceremony, cyclists started the first stage around Hoan Kiem Lake. With an excellent performance, IM Jaeyeon from Korail Cycling Team reached the finish line first and won the yellow jersey.

On September 2, athletes competed in the second stage from Hanoi to Quang Ninh province with a distance of 144km.

Top VND Exchange Rates

Auto-refesh 15m




Mid-market rates: 2020-07-06 19:52 UTC