Ministry of Information and Communications authorized VTV Can Tho channel

by Hồng Quân06 October 2022 Last updated at 18:00 PM

VTV.vn - The Ministry of Information and Communications granted the license to Vietnam Television to establish the Southwest Channel (VTV Can Tho) targeting audiences in the Southwest region and people nationwide who are interested in this region.

On October 6, 2022, Deputy Minister of Information and Communications Nguyen Thanh Lam signed a license to produce Vietnam Television's national television program channel General Southwest (VTV Can Tho). The license is valid for 10 years, based on the Press Law, Decree No. 06/2016/ND-CP dated January 18, 2016 of the Government on administration, provision and use of radio and television services; Decree No. 48/2022/ND-CP dated July 26, 2022 of the Government defining the functions, tasks, powers and organizational structure of the Ministry of Information and Communications; Official Dispatch No. 3957-CV/BTGTW dated October 5, 2022 of the Communication and Education Commission of the Party's Central Committee on the license application of Vietnam Television Station for the establishment of VTV Can Tho channel and Vietnam Television's application dossier.

The VTV Can Tho channel has the task of informing, propagating and disseminating the Party's guidelines and directives, State policies and laws to people of all classes, with a focus on the Southwest region; information, reflecting the political, economic, cultural, social, security and defense situation of the Southwest region, in order to meet the information, entertainment and sports needs of the people here as well as audiences in the south and throughout the country. At the same time, VTV Can Tho contributes to guiding public opinion in the Mekong Delta.

Can Tho VTV broadcasts from 05:30 to 23:30 every day (18 hours/day). VTV Can Tho's programs include: political programs, educational programs, sports programs, cultural and entertainment programs, feature films, and advertising and program information. The content is produced by production teams in 13 provinces and cities in the Mekong Delta (including: Long An, Tien Giang, Vinh Long, Ben Tre, Dong Thap, Tra Vinh, An Giang, Can Tho, Hau Giang, Bac Lieu, Soc Trang, Kien Giang, Ca Mau) and some other provinces and cities in the country.

On September 8, 2022, Permanent Deputy Prime Minister Pham Binh Minh signed Decree No. 60/2022/ND-CP stipulating the functions, tasks, powers and organizational structure of Vietnam Television Station.

Accordingly, Vietnam Television has 28 units including: 1- Office; 2- Organization and Personnel Department; 3- Planning - Finance Department; 4- Inspection Department; 5- International Cooperation Department; 6- Editorial Secretariat; 7- News Department; 8- Science Department; 9. Ethnic Languages Television Department; 10- International Programs Department; 11- Artistic Programs Department; 12- Entertainment Programs Production Department; 13- Sports Department; 14. Department of Multimedia Television; 15- Documentary Film Center; 16- TV Series Center; 17- Documentation and Archives Center; 18- Vietnam Television Center in Ho Chi Minh City; 19- Vietnam Television Center in Central region - Central Highlands; 20- Vietnam Television Center in Southwest region; 21- Vietnam Television Offices in foreign countries established in accordance with the law; 22- Television Technical Center; 23- Decoration Center; 24- Digital Content Development and Production Center; 25- Broadcasting Technology Center; 26- Television Vocational Training Center; 27- Television Advertising and Service Center; 28- Information and Television Technology Center.


Top VND Exchange Rates

Auto-refesh 15m




Mid-market rates: 2023-03-22 07:36 UTC